By William Carter

Photographer, Author, Jazz Musician

Happy Accidents Part 2

with 2 comments


When I was fooling around with my first digital camera several years ago, I tried auto focusing on my hand, then snapped the picture.  The photo somehow refused to go away, and kept popping up in my files.  Unlike others in the book I was preparing in 2009, it would not fit in that sequence, but like an unruly child still demanded attention, until I hit on using as a soft pattern across both “end papers” – the sheets just inside the hard covers.  What could be more implicit in ones destiny?


.

The Palm of My Hand

“The Palm of My Hand,” photograph © William Carter 2001-2010, as used in Causes and Spirits, 2011

Click here to see other examples of photographs in Causes and Spirits.

Copyright statement: William Carter papers, © Stanford University Libraries. Click here for a detailed usage guide.

Written by bywilliamcarter

November 10, 2015 at 1:30 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This photography is so characteristic of your work. It capture the essence of an impression and expresses it in a way that is very personal to the person that watches it. When I look at this image, I first see interesting contrasts, lines, connections. It is a question. I have no idea that it is the palm of a hand. A very crisp and zen form of art that deeply respects humans. Great abstract expression of things that are under our eyes all day long … and that we hardly see anymore.

    Like

    Dominique Trempont

    January 11, 2012 at 9:40 pm

  2. I really like this. And I know what you mean about a photo that just keeps demanding attention. 🙂 Love it when that happens.

    Like

    KatiesCameraBlog

    January 6, 2012 at 10:12 pm


Leave a Reply

